Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Kate Middleton and Prince William performed their first joint appearance of the year today (March 17) when they visited the Irish Guards for St. Patrick’s Day.  William was there as Colonel of the regiment and Kate handed out shamrocks.  The Irish Guards were created in 1900 by Queen Victoria.

Will and Kate St. Patrick's day 2014

In 2012 and 2013, Kate wore the exact same Emilia Wickstead coatdress to this event.  She did style the years differently, which is good (she doesn’t always restyle when re-wearing clothes).  To be honest, I love that green coat she wore; it is one of my favorites from her.  Now, I was curious to see if she would re-wear that coat again, but she opted for something new—a different green coat that looks very similar to the other one. The coat is a pine green Hobbs Persephone trench.  Not going to lie, I love this coat, too.  I would totally buy this coat if I had $345 dollars to spend.  What I don’t love is that instead of going with the self belt that came with the coat, Kate opted for a horrid green (that looks black to me against the green of the coat), textured belt with a gold buckle.  It’s ugly.  I don’t understand Kate’s need to cinch in her waist with ugly belts.  I realize that Kate has to prove how skinny she is by cinching in her clothes, but wear a prettier belt.

As far as accessories go, Kate wore a green Gina Foster hat that she previously wore to church on Christmas.  Kate wore a new pair of Emmy shoes in green.  She’s worn Emmy shoes before, the Valerie pump in chocolate and grey (the chocolate is listed on their website as £400, I would assume the green ones are similar in price).  Kate carried a new clutch, also in a shade of green.  It’s this Emmy bag, but in a different color.

Let’s talk jewelry.  Kate wore a gold Cartier shamrock brooch from the Royal Collection that was first worn by Queen Alexandra (wife of King Edward VII) in 1901.  It’s a beautiful brooch.  I’m not that into brooches, but I really like this one.  This is not the first time Kate has worn this brooch, she wore it to this event in 2012 and 2013, and she also wore it at an Irish Guards Armed Forces Day event in 2011.  Kate wore green amethyst earrings by Kiki McDonough. The earrings are relatively new, their first appearance was when she wore them to the ICAP Art Room appearance in February.  She wore a Tissot watch, which I’ve been informed is quite old, she’s had it for years.

All the articles mention how Will and Kate look so tan and whatnot having just come back from their Maldives holiday.  I understand the want and need to include the holiday (and I’m glad they keep bringing it up), but is it just me or do Will and Kate not look any tanner than normal?  I don’t see any difference in her skin tone from this year and the previous years.  If they went to get a tan, then they failed.

Let’s talk quotes:  We learned something about Will and Kate’s baby planning.  William was asked about babies and when they’ll have #2 by one of the officers and William replied, “Maybe one day.  One’s enough at the moment.”  Hm… I don’t know.  I could see them not wanting to have another one right away, seeing as George has reportedly been a very fussy baby.  I think they weren’t expecting that and have become disillusioned with the idea of parenthood, so I would understand them not wanting a second one right away.  But then I think Kate would want a pregnancy and newborn to further excuse her from royal duties.  I guess we’ll see.

Check out this video from the Daily Mail. I’d embed the video if I could, but for whatever reason their code doesn’t work for me. Toward the beginning of the video, Kate is talking to an officer and William says something in Kate’s ear, Kate laughs and then stops talking to the officer. My only guess is that Kate was talking too long and William was all, “Hurry it up.”

Links:  Express article.  Mirror article.  Daily Mail article.  ITV videos. Popsugar article and photos.

Photo from British Army twitter.

Special thanks to Anna for helping with the jewelry and bag ID confirmation, and belt color ID.